We Neded Your HELP

The City of Santa Cruz is looking into installing permanent Pickleball courts at Sergeant Derby Park but is getting push back from tennis players that are "concerned" about losing a couple of tennis courts.

There are 15 tennis facilities, which represent 54 tennis courts, within the City of Santa Cruz. CLICK HERE if you want to see where this data came from. This does not include Sergeant Derby Park. Sergeant Derby Park is rarely used for tennis, I drop by there often and see very little usage. Meanwhile, on Wednesdays and Sundays we had over 40 people playing Pickleball.

We as the growing population playing Pickleball, need to show the City that Pickleball is important to us and the City senior population in general. 

PLEASE contact the City and the Parks and Recreation Commission to voice your support for permanent Pickleball courts at Sergeant Derby Park. Call them, email the commissioners or mail a letter, just voice your support.

Director of Parks and Recreation

Mauro Garcia              831-420-5270             MGarcia@cityofsantacruz.com   

 

Santa Cruz Parks and Recreation Commission  

  • Cece Pinhero (Vice Chair)

  • Christine Palochak

  • Donna Meyers (Chair)                           Sample Letter ----------------- >

  • JM Brown                                            (Edit to make it yours)

  • John Falkowski

  •  Lars Shalberg

  • Maggie Duncan-Merrell

To contact commissioners, email Tremain Hedden-Jones at tjones@cityofsantacruz.com

City of Santa Cruz City Council

Mayor Cynthia Mathews        cmathews@cityofsantacruz.com            (831) 420-5027
Vice Mayor Cynthia Chase     cchase@cityofsantacruz.com                 (831) 420-5020
Micah Posner                        mposner@cityofsantacruz.com               (831) 420-5028
David Terrazas                      dterrazas@cityofsantacruz.com              (831) 420 5020 

Pamela Comstoc                   pcomstock@cityofsantacruz.com           (831) 420-5024

Don Lane                             dlane@cityofsantacruz.com                     (831) 420-5022

Richelle Noroyan                  rnoroyan@cityofsantacruz.com                (831) 420-5025

City Address:      809 Center Street, Room 10

                          Santa Cruz, CA    95060

The Santa Cruz Pickleball Club partners with the Santa Cruz County Department of Parks to bring Pickleball to Santa Cruz County